Back to All Events

KRONOS FESTIVAL 2017: Here and Now

  • SFJAZZ Center 201 Franklin Street San Francisco, CA 94102 USA (map)

Thalea String Quartet Plays Kronos’ Fifty for the Future
Thalea String Quartet
    Christopher Whitley, violin
    Kumiko Sakamoto, violin
    Luis Bellorin, viola
    Bridget Pasker, cello

Terry Riley / Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector *

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh / Rǝqs (Dance) **

Garth Knox / Selections from Satellites **

Wu Man (arr. Danny Clay) / Selections from Four Chinese Paintings **

Caroline Shaw / Entr’acte


Thalea String Quartet, the first-ever quartet in residence at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, will highlight Kronos’ commitment to younger generations of string quartets in a performance of select works from Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire. Launched in 2015, Kronos’ Fifty for the Future is an education program that is commissioning a free, open-access library of string quartets for the express purpose of guiding students and early-career professionals in developing and honing the skills required for the performance of 21st-century repertoire. In addition, Thalea will also perform Terry Riley’s “Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector,” which was the first piece that the composer wrote for Kronos back in 1981, and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw‘s “Entr’acte.”

Tickets: $20
General Admission / Joe Henderson Lab
Buy tickets >

* Written for Kronos / ** Written for Kronos and composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire


We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien.