7:30 PM19:30

Brooklyn Groupmuse

Reserve your spot here

-Set 1-
Haydn - String Quartet Op. 54 No. 2: I. Vivace
Mendelssohn - String Quartet Op. 80: III. Adagio, IV. Finale. Allegro molto
Wu Man - Four Chinese Paintings: II. Turpan Dance
Garth Knox - Satellites: III. Dimensions

-Set 2-
Beethoven - String Quartet Op. 130: V. Cavatina: Adagio molto espressivo, Große Fuge (Op. 133)

View Event →
6:30 PM18:30

San Francisco Performances/Thalea String Quartet at Hotel Rex


JOAN TOWER: Night Fields
MENDELSSOHN: String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

About This Performance

The first quartet-in-residence at the SF Conservatory of Music, this young ensemble gives voice to the old and new standards in compelling fashion. For their Salon debut, they pair American composer Joan Tower’s evocative Night Fields (1994)—“where waves of fast-moving colors ripple over the field, occasionally settling on a patch of gold”—with Mendelssohn’s last string quartet, Op. 80 (1847), a Requiem for his beloved sister, Fanny.

San Francisco Performances: Tickets $25 CLICK HERE

View Event →
5:00 PM17:00

KRONOS FESTIVAL 2017: Here and Now

Thalea String Quartet Plays Kronos’ Fifty for the Future
Thalea String Quartet
    Christopher Whitley, violin
    Kumiko Sakamoto, violin
    Luis Bellorin, viola
    Bridget Pasker, cello

Terry Riley / Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector *

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh / Rǝqs (Dance) **

Garth Knox / Selections from Satellites **

Wu Man (arr. Danny Clay) / Selections from Four Chinese Paintings **

Caroline Shaw / Entr’acte


Thalea String Quartet, the first-ever quartet in residence at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, will highlight Kronos’ commitment to younger generations of string quartets in a performance of select works from Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire. Launched in 2015, Kronos’ Fifty for the Future is an education program that is commissioning a free, open-access library of string quartets for the express purpose of guiding students and early-career professionals in developing and honing the skills required for the performance of 21st-century repertoire. In addition, Thalea will also perform Terry Riley’s “Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector,” which was the first piece that the composer wrote for Kronos back in 1981, and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw‘s “Entr’acte.”

Tickets: $20
General Admission / Joe Henderson Lab
Buy tickets >

* Written for Kronos / ** Written for Kronos and composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire

View Event →
8:00 PM20:00

David Velasco, 2017 Composition Marathon

Thalea String quartet will premiere seven pieces that were written for them by SFCM composition students and alumni.

Program and The Thalea String Quartet present “The 2017 Composition Marathon”. A unique and exciting competition that involves local composers and pieces written for string quartet under 48 hours. Composers are given a concept at the countdown and they'll have to submit scores and parts at the end of the 48 hours. This is a particularly remarkable experience for both participating composers, performers and the audience. 

More info at:

Free, no tickets required

View Event →
5:00 PM17:00

String and Piano Chamber Music at the Sol Joseph Recital Hall

  • San Francisco Conservatory of Music (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS

Piano Trio

Jeffrey Parola '05
In the World

String Quartet No. 11 in F Minor, Op. 95 "Serioso"

Yuqian Zhang, violin
Evan Kahn, cello
Syon Kim, piano
Thalea String Quartet
Marnie Breckenridge '96, soprano
Kevin Matson, violin
Paul Hersh, viola

Program Notes
In the World
I. Joshua

II. Zion
III. Muir

For more information, CLICK HERE

Free, no tickets required

View Event →
4:00 PM16:00

Noe Valley Chamber Music; Thalea String Quartet


Noe Valley Chamber Music

NVCM welcomes the Thalea String Quartet to kick off our season with a program spanning from the classic to the cutting edge of the string quartet repertoire. Chosen as our 2016-17 Emerging Artists and hailed as having “the potential to be one of the finest of its generation” (Calgary Herald), the ensemble will perform works by Terry Riley, Haydn and Mendelssohn.

(Please note that this performance was rescheduled to October from the original February date.)

3:15 pm Pre-concert talk: Kai Christiansen.

Haydn: String Quartet op 76 no 1
Terry Riley: Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector
Mendelssohn: String Quartet op 80

*An Osher Inside-Out Concert

The performance lasts approximately 2 hours, including a short intermission with wine and cheese. Audience members have the chance to mingle with the performers immediately following the performance.

View Event →
9:00 PM21:00

Concerts Découverte

Peter Warlock : Capriol Suite
Jean Sibelius : Elégie
Pillois : Cinq Haïkaï (le 29.07 et 2.08)
Janacek : Suite pour cordes

En complement de programme, le jeune Thalea String Quartet jouera une courte oeuvre à chaque concert.


View Event →